Calendar Music Roadshows

Roadshows for Sun., Dec. 17
Sun., Dec. 17, 2017
Mon., Dec. 18, 2017
  • Music

  • Music

    Julien Baker, Half Waif, Adam Torres

    Julien Baker’s all about give-and-take these days. Following the unexpected, widespread embrace of the Memphis native’s humble and sparse 2014 debut, Sprained Ankle, her jarringly candid work has blossomed into a communal experience with listeners, her hymnal performances eliciting pin-drop reverence.: “I was drawn to aggressive styles of music, like hardcore and house shows – that kind of very raw, intimate setting – because I felt there was something rewarding and disarming about it,” she says. “Catharsis is one thing, but there’s a lasting impact of choosing to be vulnerable and living your life in that way, or seeing others choose to admit things onstage. That validates your emotion and empowers you to be more forthright with those feelings.”: Baker’s introspective sophomore LP, Turn Out the Lights, released earlier this year via Matador, evokes Sprained Ankle: quiet, devastating sadness traversing addiction, mental illness, recovery, and relationships. This time, though, Baker’s story includes some light.: “Now that there’s an audience in mind, I think I was more deliberate in including a provision of hopefulness, instead of just allowing the record to be completely bleak,” she admits. “That was as much for me, because I needed to learn a lesson of, ‘You cannot be this discouraged all the time. You have to allow for the possibility of healing.’”:
    : Read the complete Q&A.
  • Music

    Alison Self

    Mondays, 10pm. Through Jan. 29.
  • Music

  • Music

Tue., Dec. 19, 2017
Wed., Dec. 20, 2017
Thu., Dec. 21, 2017
Fri., Dec. 22, 2017
Sat., Dec. 23, 2017
Mon., Dec. 25, 2017
Tue., Dec. 26, 2017
Wed., Dec. 27, 2017
Thu., Dec. 28, 2017
Fri., Dec. 29, 2017
Sat., Dec. 30, 2017
Sun., Dec. 31, 2017
Mon., Jan. 1, 2018
Tue., Jan. 2, 2018
Wed., Jan. 3, 2018
Thu., Jan. 4, 2018
Fri., Jan. 5, 2018
Sat., Jan. 6, 2018
Sun., Jan. 7, 2018
Mon., Jan. 8, 2018
Mon., Jan. 15, 2018
Sun., Jan. 21, 2018
Mon., Jan. 22, 2018
Mon., Jan. 29, 2018
Thu., Feb. 8, 2018
  • Music

    VOLAC

    Thu., Feb. 8
Sun., Feb. 11, 2018
Sat., March 3, 2018
Tue., April 24, 2018
Wed., April 25, 2018
Sat., April 28, 2018
  • Music

    Eric Church, Elle King [Rescheduled for April 28]

    Eric Church’s sold-out Holdin’ My Own tour this spring set a new bar for Nashville’s reigning outsider, establishing him, paradoxically, as one of the most powerful forces of country music even as he pushes against Music Row. The tour’s three-and-a-half-hour double set dug deep into Church’s catalog, rocking like his idol Bruce Springsteen. Austin gets the abbreviated version. “America’s Sweetheart” Elle King opens raucous and irreverent atop hard-lined country anthems edged with pop.
Sun., June 3, 2018
Fri., June 22, 2018
Sat., June 30, 2018
Sat., July 21, 2018