Reviews Books

211-240 of 1,075 entries
Read My Lips
No Simple Highway: A Cultural History of the Grateful Dead
A long strange trip contextualized

Kevin Curtin, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
NYHC: New York Hardcore 1980-1990
Hardcore demanded history, so here it pounds

Marc Savlov, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Homegrown: Austin Music Posters 1967-1982
The formative years of Austin's vaunted live music scene spawned a visual soundtrack

Doug Freeman, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Behemoth: Devil's Conquistadors and Confessions of a Heretic: The Sacred and the Profane – Behemoth and Beyond
A lavish diary of Poland's black metal breakout Behemoth, and a book-length Q&A defense of frontman Adam Darski

Raoul Hernandez, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Talk That Music Talk: Passing on Brass Band Music in New Orleans the Traditional Way
Coffeetable book on New Orleans? Dense ethnography and oral history of Crescent City brass bands!

Thomas Fawcett, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Anger Is an Energy: My Life Uncensored
Johnny Rotten's second autobiography picks up from the Pistols' demise and pistons into the present

Tim Stegall, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
It's a Long Story: My Life
Austin outlaw updates his 1988 autobiography

Tim Stegall, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Beale Street Dynasty
Historical overview of Memphis' legendary music row

Nina Hernandez, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Lou Reed: The Last Interview and Other Conversations
Thirty years of final grouses from a New Yorker

Kahron Spearman, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Brand New Ancients and Hold Your Own
UK poet-rapper screams in both prose and meter

Jay Trachtenberg, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
John Prine, In Spite of Himself
Unauthorized bio isn't even helped by its own subject

Kevin Curtin, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
I Fought the Law: The Life and Strange Death of Bobby Fuller
West Texan law fighter's mysterious death remains just that

Greg Beets, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
See Hear Yoko
Yoko Ono in pictures

Neph Basedow, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Throwing Frisbees at the Sun: A Book About Beck
Fanboy Beck tome

Neph Basedow, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Brian Jones: The Making of the Rolling Stones
The Rolling Stones' sacrificial lamb receives an overdue close-up

Tim Stegall, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Be Stiff: The Stiff Records Story
Another micro UK label with macro influence

Michael Toland, Music, May 28, 2015

Into the Field: A Foreign Correspondent's Notebook
Into the Field: A Foreign Correspondent's Notebook
A UT professor recounts his three decades of reporting in Asia

Jesse Sublett, Arts, April 30, 2015

Barefoot Dogs
Barefoot Dogs
A Mexico City family scatters to the wind when its patriarch goes missing

Jesse Sublett, Arts, April 30, 2015

Hausfrau: A Novel
Hausfrau
This first novel is about the desperation of a depressed expat housewife in Switzerland

Jessi Cape, Arts, April 30, 2015

Review: <i>Dear Nobody: The True Diary of Mary Rose</i>
Dear Nobody: The True Diary of Mary Rose
This nonfiction account of a teen's encounters with sex, drugs, and jail is one long, raw primal scream

Tim Stegall, Arts, Dec. 31, 2014

Review: <i>Brainquake</i>
Brainquake
Sam Fuller's last novel is the perfect cap on his legacy of true-to-life, flamboyant, high-impact storytelling

Tim Stegall, Arts, Dec. 23, 2014

Epic Feats
On the Road With Texas Highways: A Tribute to True Texas
The vibrant images of Texas taken by J. Griffis Smith will have you wanting to drive across the state yourself

Robert Faires, Arts, Dec. 16, 2014

Epic Feats
The Making of Gone With the Wind
This account of the cinematic epic's epic creation is as full of drama and memorable characters as the film itself

Robert Faires, Arts, Dec. 16, 2014

Epic Feats
Boyhood: Twelve Years on Film
This photographic record of Richard Linklater's landmark film shows a lot going on before and behind the camera

Jesse Sublett, Arts, Dec. 16, 2014

<i>The Devil's Backbone</i>
The Devil's Backbone
Bill Wittliff's debut novel is a picaresque tale with a "Lucky Heart"

Joe O'Connell, Arts, Dec. 4, 2014

Well-Behaved? Let's Assume Not.
Small Victories: Spotting Improbable Moments of Grace
Anne Lamott's collection of essays offer prime examples of her crystalline insights and wicked wit

Virginia B. Wood, Arts, Nov. 26, 2014

Well-Behaved? Let's Assume Not.
Penelope Fitzgerald: A Life
This meticulous biography paints a stunning portrait of the late-blooming English author

Melanie Haupt, Arts, Nov. 26, 2014

Well-Behaved? Let's Assume Not.
PRO: Reclaiming Abortion Rights and The Birth of the Pill
Jonathan Eig's breezy history of the Pill is engaging, but Katha Pollitt's argument for abortion rights is indispensible

Michael King, Arts, Nov. 26, 2014

Well-Behaved? Let's Assume Not.
Joan of Arc: A Life Transfigured
Kathryn Harrison's look at Joan of Arc and her cultural legacy seeks to redefine this heroine for a new generation

Anne Harris, Arts, Nov. 26, 2014

Well-Behaved? Let's Assume Not.
Elsa Schiaparelli: A Biography
Fashion takes a backseat in this biography of the storied designer, but it's an illuminating ride anyway

Brandon Watson, Arts, Nov. 26, 2014

« 1    BACK    3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12     NEXT    36 »
NEWSLETTERS
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

New recipes and food news delivered Mondays

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle