Reviews Books

211-240 of 1,084 entries
<i>The Cult of Truland</i>
The Cult of Truland
Pop culture sparkles over the edges of Kevin Brass' mystery set among the SoCal celeb set

Michael King, Arts, June 11, 2015

<i>The Reluctant Matador</i>
The Reluctant Matador
FBI agent Hugo Marston heads to Barcelona on the trail of a murderer and a Spanish prison gang

Jesse Sublett, Arts, June 11, 2015

Nick Offerman's <i>Gumption</i>
Gumption: Relighting the Torch of Freedom With America's Gutsiest Troublemakers
Nick Offerman's book of essays about 21 personal heroes is funny, thought-provoking, and mostly interesting

Melanie Haupt, Arts, June 11, 2015

<i>Missing</i>
Missing
When his stepdaughter is kidnapped in Mexico, Jack Searle has to cross the border to find her

Jesse Sublett, Arts, June 11, 2015

<i>MAD's Greatest Writers: Frank Jacobs</i>
MAD's Greatest Writers: Frank Jacobs
Collecting 50 years of the satire that's made MAD the preferred reading of smarty-pants fifth-graders everywhere

Raoul Hernandez, Arts, June 11, 2015

<i>Exploring Calvin & Hobbes</i>
Exploring Calvin & Hobbes
This catalog from an exhibition about the comic strip reveals an unusual amount about its creator

Raoul Hernandez, Arts, June 11, 2015

<i>At the Water's Edge</i>
At the Water's Edge
In the midst of World War II, three trust-fund brats go searching for Nessie and find romance

Jessi Cape, Arts, June 11, 2015

<i>A Touch of Stardust</i>
A Touch of Stardust
Its peek behind the scenes of filming Gone With the Wind make this novel a delectable summer treat

Rosalind Faires, Arts, June 11, 2015

Read My Lips
Words Without Music: A Memoir
Famed Austin composer appraises the autobiography of Philip Glass, father of the modern classical avant-garde

Graham Reynolds, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
No Simple Highway: A Cultural History of the Grateful Dead
A long strange trip contextualized

Kevin Curtin, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
NYHC: New York Hardcore 1980-1990
Hardcore demanded history, so here it pounds

Marc Savlov, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Homegrown: Austin Music Posters 1967-1982
The formative years of Austin's vaunted live music scene spawned a visual soundtrack

Doug Freeman, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Behemoth: Devil's Conquistadors and Confessions of a Heretic: The Sacred and the Profane – Behemoth and Beyond
A lavish diary of Poland's black metal breakout Behemoth, and a book-length Q&A defense of frontman Adam Darski

Raoul Hernandez, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Talk That Music Talk: Passing on Brass Band Music in New Orleans the Traditional Way
Coffeetable book on New Orleans? Dense ethnography and oral history of Crescent City brass bands!

Thomas Fawcett, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Anger Is an Energy: My Life Uncensored
Johnny Rotten's second autobiography picks up from the Pistols' demise and pistons into the present

Tim Stegall, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
It's a Long Story: My Life
Austin outlaw updates his 1988 autobiography

Tim Stegall, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Beale Street Dynasty
Historical overview of Memphis' legendary music row

Nina Hernandez, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Lou Reed: The Last Interview and Other Conversations
Thirty years of final grouses from a New Yorker

Kahron Spearman, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Brand New Ancients and Hold Your Own
UK poet-rapper screams in both prose and meter

Jay Trachtenberg, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
John Prine, In Spite of Himself
Unauthorized bio isn't even helped by its own subject

Kevin Curtin, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
I Fought the Law: The Life and Strange Death of Bobby Fuller
West Texan law fighter's mysterious death remains just that

Greg Beets, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
See Hear Yoko
Yoko Ono in pictures

Neph Basedow, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Throwing Frisbees at the Sun: A Book About Beck
Fanboy Beck tome

Neph Basedow, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Brian Jones: The Making of the Rolling Stones
The Rolling Stones' sacrificial lamb receives an overdue close-up

Tim Stegall, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Be Stiff: The Stiff Records Story
Another micro UK label with macro influence

Michael Toland, Music, May 28, 2015

Into the Field: A Foreign Correspondent's Notebook
Into the Field: A Foreign Correspondent's Notebook
A UT professor recounts his three decades of reporting in Asia

Jesse Sublett, Arts, April 30, 2015

Barefoot Dogs
Barefoot Dogs
A Mexico City family scatters to the wind when its patriarch goes missing

Jesse Sublett, Arts, April 30, 2015

Hausfrau: A Novel
Hausfrau
This first novel is about the desperation of a depressed expat housewife in Switzerland

Jessi Cape, Arts, April 30, 2015

Review: <i>Dear Nobody: The True Diary of Mary Rose</i>
Dear Nobody: The True Diary of Mary Rose
This nonfiction account of a teen's encounters with sex, drugs, and jail is one long, raw primal scream

Tim Stegall, Arts, Dec. 31, 2014

Review: <i>Brainquake</i>
Brainquake
Sam Fuller's last novel is the perfect cap on his legacy of true-to-life, flamboyant, high-impact storytelling

Tim Stegall, Arts, Dec. 23, 2014

« 1    BACK    3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12     NEXT    37 »
NEWSLETTERS
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

New recipes and food news delivered Mondays

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle