Reviews Books

181-210 of 1,062 entries
Texas Book Festival Reviews
Little Melba & Her Big Trombone
Little known female jazz trombone player gets her due – with children

Raoul Hernandez, Music, Oct. 15, 2015

<i>1960s Austin Gangsters</i>
1960s Austin Gangsters
The noir novelist digs into the capital city's criminal past and unearths characters who are lively, colorful, and interesting

Tim Stegall, Arts, Oct. 1, 2015

<i>The Sex Lives of Siamese Twins</i>
The Sex Lives of Siamese Twins
The Trainspotting author rips into American culture in his latest novel

Tim Stegall, Arts, Sept. 3, 2015

<i>BOOKS</i> by Kevin McNamee-Tweed
BOOKS by Kevin McNamee-Tweed
In this collection of faux book jackets, you can totally judge books by their covers

Seth Orion Schwaiger, Arts, Aug. 13, 2015

<i>Wildfire: A Novel</i>
Wildfire
Vivid imagery and a rapid pace make this debut novel about wildland firefighters fun as hell to read

Jessi Cape, Arts, July 23, 2015

<i>A Gathering of Promises</i>
A Gathering of Promises
UK POV on Texas's psychedelic birth

Tim Stegall, Music, July 23, 2015

Digital Scroll: <i>Is It Rolling, Bob?</i>
Is It Rolling, Bob?
Bob Johnston produced some of music's greatest albums

Jim Caligiuri, Music, June 25, 2015

Review: <i>Loving Day</i>
Loving Day
Mat Johnson's new novel is all there in black and white

Wayne Alan Brenner, Arts, June 18, 2015

<i>The Cult of Truland</i>
The Cult of Truland
Pop culture sparkles over the edges of Kevin Brass' mystery set among the SoCal celeb set

Michael King, Arts, June 11, 2015

<i>The Reluctant Matador</i>
The Reluctant Matador
FBI agent Hugo Marston heads to Barcelona on the trail of a murderer and a Spanish prison gang

Jesse Sublett, Arts, June 11, 2015

Nick Offerman's <i>Gumption</i>
Gumption: Relighting the Torch of Freedom With America's Gutsiest Troublemakers
Nick Offerman's book of essays about 21 personal heroes is funny, thought-provoking, and mostly interesting

Melanie Haupt, Arts, June 11, 2015

<i>Missing</i>
Missing
When his stepdaughter is kidnapped in Mexico, Jack Searle has to cross the border to find her

Jesse Sublett, Arts, June 11, 2015

<i>MAD's Greatest Writers: Frank Jacobs</i>
MAD's Greatest Writers: Frank Jacobs
Collecting 50 years of the satire that's made MAD the preferred reading of smarty-pants fifth-graders everywhere

Raoul Hernandez, Arts, June 11, 2015

<i>Exploring Calvin & Hobbes</i>
Exploring Calvin & Hobbes
This catalog from an exhibition about the comic strip reveals an unusual amount about its creator

Raoul Hernandez, Arts, June 11, 2015

<i>At the Water's Edge</i>
At the Water's Edge
In the midst of World War II, three trust-fund brats go searching for Nessie and find romance

Jessi Cape, Arts, June 11, 2015

<i>A Touch of Stardust</i>
A Touch of Stardust
Its peek behind the scenes of filming Gone With the Wind make this novel a delectable summer treat

Rosalind Faires, Arts, June 11, 2015

Read My Lips
Words Without Music: A Memoir
Famed Austin composer appraises the autobiography of Philip Glass, father of the modern classical avant-garde

Graham Reynolds, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
No Simple Highway: A Cultural History of the Grateful Dead
A long strange trip contextualized

Kevin Curtin, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
NYHC: New York Hardcore 1980-1990
Hardcore demanded history, so here it pounds

Marc Savlov, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Homegrown: Austin Music Posters 1967-1982
The formative years of Austin's vaunted live music scene spawned a visual soundtrack

Doug Freeman, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Behemoth: Devil's Conquistadors and Confessions of a Heretic: The Sacred and the Profane – Behemoth and Beyond
A lavish diary of Poland's black metal breakout Behemoth, and a book-length Q&A defense of frontman Adam Darski

Raoul Hernandez, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Talk That Music Talk: Passing on Brass Band Music in New Orleans the Traditional Way
Coffeetable book on New Orleans? Dense ethnography and oral history of Crescent City brass bands!

Thomas Fawcett, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Anger Is an Energy: My Life Uncensored
Johnny Rotten's second autobiography picks up from the Pistols' demise and pistons into the present

Tim Stegall, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
It's a Long Story: My Life
Austin outlaw updates his 1988 autobiography

Tim Stegall, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Beale Street Dynasty
Historical overview of Memphis' legendary music row

Nina Hernandez, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Lou Reed: The Last Interview and Other Conversations
Thirty years of final grouses from a New Yorker

Kahron Spearman, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
Brand New Ancients and Hold Your Own
UK poet-rapper screams in both prose and meter

Jay Trachtenberg, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
John Prine, In Spite of Himself
Unauthorized bio isn't even helped by its own subject

Kevin Curtin, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
I Fought the Law: The Life and Strange Death of Bobby Fuller
West Texan law fighter's mysterious death remains just that

Greg Beets, Music, May 28, 2015

Read My Lips
See Hear Yoko
Yoko Ono in pictures

Neph Basedow, Music, May 28, 2015

« 1    BACK    2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11     NEXT    36 »
NEWSLETTERS
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Updates for SXSW 2019

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Time to vote! Music Poll 2019-20 balloting is underway   VOTE NOW