Austin Music Awards More 1981-1982 Best Austin Musicians Best Songwriter: Butch Hancock Best Male Vocals: Billy Pringle (the Jitters) Best Female Vocals: Angela Strehli Best Bass Guitar: Kyle Brock (Eric Johnson, X-Spand-X) Best Drums / Percussion: Terri Lord (the Jitters) Best Keyboards: Shona Lay (the Standing Waves) Best Horns: Tomás Ramírez Tasmanian Devil Best Miscellaneous Instrument: Kim Wilson, harp (the Fabulous Thunderbirds)

Austin Music Awards › 1981-1982 › Best Austin Musicians ›

Best Electric Guitar: Jon Dee Graham (the Lift)

2. Eric Johnson
3. Stevie Ray Vaughan (Double Trouble)
4. Mike Barnes
5. Jimmie Vaughan (the Fabulous Thunderbirds)
6. Tom McMahon (X-Spand-X)
7. John Reed (Octave Doctors)
8. Jack Pittato (Nasty Habits)
9. Tim Kerr (Big Boys)
10. Steve Sonleitner (Jerryskids)
11. Mitch Watkins (Passenger)
12. Doug Murray (the Skunks)
13. Jesse Taylor (Joe Ely Band)
14. Chip Kinman (Rank & File)
15. Larry Seaman (the Standing Waves)
16. Cam King (the Explosives)
17. Van Wilks

This content has not been formatted for this window size.
Please increase the size of your browser window, or revisit this page on a mobile device.
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle