Reviews Arts

211-240 of 3,205 entries
This Is Who We Are #6: Miró Quartet's <i>Faces of America: The Light</i>
This Is Who We Are #6: Miró Quartet's Faces of America: The Light
A daily affirmation of Austin's creativity from the Chronicle archive

Robert Faires, May 12, 2020

This Is Who We Are #5: Salvage Vanguard Theater's <i>Death of a Cat</i>
This Is Who We Are #5: Salvage Vanguard Theater's Death of a Cat
A daily affirmation of Austin's creativity from the Chronicle archive

Robert Faires, May 8, 2020

This Is Who We Are #4: Zach Theatre's <i>The Gospel at Colonus</i>
This Is Who We Are #4: Zach Theatre's The Gospel at Colonus
A daily affirmation of Austin's creativity from the Chronicle archive

Robert Faires, May 7, 2020

This Is Who We Are #3: <i>A New Year's Conspirare Classic</i>
This Is Who We Are #3: A New Year's Conspirare Classic
A daily affirmation of Austin's creativity from the Chronicle archive

Robert Faires, May 6, 2020

This Is Who We Are #2: Sally Jacques' <i>The Well Inside</i>
This Is Who We Are #2: Sally Jacques' The Well Inside
A daily affirmation of Austin's creativity from the Chronicle archive

Robert Faires, May 5, 2020

This Is Who We Are #1: Rude Mechs' <I>Big Love</I>
This Is Who We Are #1: Rude Mechs' Big Love
A daily affirmation of Austin's creativity from the Chronicle archive

Robert Faires, May 4, 2020

Austin Weird Homes Tour: The Mysterious Planchette
Austin Weird Homes Tour: The Mysterious Planchette
In this virtual Weird Homes Tour presentation, Brandon Hodge wanted to have a few (spirit-channeled) words with you

Wayne Alan Brenner, April 30, 2020

The Heroine of <i>The Roxy Letters</i> Fights to Get Austin's Groove Back
The Heroine of The Roxy Letters Fights to Get Austin's Groove Back
Mary Pauline Lowry's quirky novel looks for the city's soul

Robert Faires, April 16, 2020

The Hideout Theatre’s Virtual Threefer
The Hideout Theatre’s Virtual Threefer
Three troupes Zoomed and Twitched their time upon the improv stage

Wayne Alan Brenner, April 2, 2020

Sad Girls Productions’ <i>So Lucky</i>
Sad Girls Productions' So Lucky
This world premiere from a brand-new company lacks polish, but it does honor its community’s stories

Elizabeth Cobbe, March 19, 2020

Jo Carol Pierce’s <i>Bad Girls Upset by the Truth</i>
Jo Carol Pierce’s Bad Girls Upset by the Truth
This revival of Jo Carol Pierce’s one-woman show from the Eighties pays loving tribute to the author without really coming into its own

Trey Gutierrez, March 19, 2020

Fallout Theater's <i>The 2020 First Annual Hollywood Awards Show: Live in Hollywood!</i>
Fallout Theater's The 2020 First Annual Hollywood Awards Show: Live in Hollywood!
A zany yet surprisingly relevant awards show satire dives into the glitzy soullessness of Hollywood

Madelyn Geyer, March 12, 2020

<i>So Lucky</i> Makes Space for Asian Americans Onstage
So Lucky Makes Space for Asian Americans Onstage
Sad Girls Productions' new play hopes to create connections within the community

Robert Faires, March 12, 2020

Vortex and New Manifest Theatre's <i>good friday</i>
Vortex and New Manifest Theatre's good friday
Kristiana Rae Colón's shocking drama puts audiences at the intersection of gun violence and sexual assault, and makes us think about both

Trey Gutierrez, March 12, 2020

Book Review: <i>Barn 8</i>
Barn 8
Deb Olin Unferth reveals humor and humanity inside a hen heist

Robert Faires, March 9, 2020

Book Review: <i>The Body Double</i>
The Body Double
Emily Beyda's debut novel is ready for its close-up

Robert Faires, March 6, 2020

Review: <i>SUGA</i>
SUGA
Travis Coe performs his personal solo work with rigorous grace

Yasmin Zacaria Mikhaiel, March 5, 2020

<i>Hezada! I Miss You</i> by Erin Pringle
Hezada! I Miss You by Erin Pringle
Erin Pringle's debut novel is a circus of grief

Cat McCarrey, March 5, 2020

New Exhibit at the Blanton Will Have You Feeling the Bern
New Exhibit at the Blanton Will Have You Feeling the Bern
"The Avant-garde Networks of Amauta" explores the social movement from Latin America in the 1920s

Barbara Purcell, March 5, 2020

Shrewd Productions' <i>Alabaster</i>
Shrewd Productions' Alabaster
This deeply felt staging of Audrey Cefaly's new play brings us into a home where loss lives to show us when to leave

Robert Faires, March 5, 2020

Gateway Theatre Project's <i>Ghosts</i>
Gateway Theatre Project's Ghosts
This site-specific staging immerses its small audiences in Ibsen's bleak, tragic world via an Austin home

Trey Gutierrez, March 5, 2020

"Through the Dusk, a Light" at Recspec Gallery
Annalise Gratovich prints up a bright array of time and place

Wayne Alan Brenner, Feb. 27, 2020

<i>Big Wonderful Thing: A History of Texas</i> Lives Up to Its Title
Big Wonderful Thing: A History of Texas Lives Up to Its Title
Stephen Harrigan chronicles the Lone Star State’s last 500 years

Robert Faires, Feb. 27, 2020

Paradox Players' <i>The Mountaintop</i>
Paradox Players' The Mountaintop
In this powerful production of Katori Hall's drama, MLK wrestles with his life's meaning – and maybe an angel

Laura Jones, Feb. 27, 2020

Different Stages' <i>Gliders</i>
Different Stages' Gliders
Rita Anderson's domestic drama sets one family's frictions against the backdrop of the Apollo 11 mission

Robert Faires, Feb. 27, 2020

Review: <i>Single Black Female</i>
Single Black Female
Lisa B. Thompson's play preaches from a Nineties perch

Yasmin Zacaria Mikhaiel, Feb. 26, 2020

Book Review: <i>The Big Goodbye</i>
The Big Goodbye
The making of Chinatown gets its full due in Wasson's chronicle

David Gaines, Feb. 25, 2020

Archive Theater's <i>The Man of Destiny</i>
Archive Theater's The Man of Destiny
The company builds a uniquely entertaining evening around Shaw's fiery tango of wits between a young Napoleon and a Mysterious Lady

Trey Gutierrez, Feb. 20, 2020

At No Lights No Lycra, You Really Can Dance Like No One's Watching
At No Lights No Lycra, You Really Can Dance Like No One's Watching
Since this weekly sober dance party happens in the dark, you're free to move without worry over how you look

Erica Lies, Feb. 20, 2020

Mary Moody Northen Theatre's <i>The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time</i>
Mary Moody Northen Theatre's The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
This moving, transformative show gives its autistic hero a deep and engaging humanity

Laura Jones, Feb. 20, 2020

« 1    BACK    3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12     NEXT    107 »
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle