Reviews Arts

181-210 of 3,204 entries
<i>Transcendent Kingdom</i> by Yaa Gyasi
Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi
A Ghanian American scientist makes findings about herself

Barbara Purcell, Nov. 11, 2020

Texas Book Festival 2020: Meet the Whiting Award Winners in Poetry
Texas Book Festival 2020: Meet the Whiting Award Winners in Poetry
Three emerging literary stars on disturbing the peace

Barbara Purcell, Nov. 10, 2020

Texas Book Festival 2020: Mychal Denzel Smith and Isaac J. Bailey in Conversation
Texas Book Festival 2020: Mychal Denzel Smith and Isaac J. Bailey in Conversation
The two authors discuss Black Americans and life post-America

Evan Rodriguez, Nov. 10, 2020

<i>Sex and Vanity</i> by Kevin Kwan
Sex and Vanity by Kevin Kwan
Kevin Kwan offers another gloriously satirical and sharp sociological take on the insular lives of the untouchably rich

Barbara Purcell, Nov. 5, 2020

<i>Memorial Drive: A Daughter's Memoir</i> by Natasha Trethewey
Memorial Drive: A Daughter's Memoir by Natasha Trethewey
In her book, the Pulitzer Prize-winning poet is a daughter who returns to her mother's crime scene to reclaim herself

Barbara Purcell, Nov. 5, 2020

<i>Running</i> by Natalia Sylvester
Running by Natalia Sylvester
Natalia Sylvester’s YA debut makes the political personal

Rosalind Faires, Oct. 29, 2020

Blue Lapis Light's <i>Beyond the Clouds</i>
Blue Lapis Light's Beyond the Clouds
This aerial dance company's production brought its dancers down to earth but still lifted us up

Robert Faires, Oct. 29, 2020

"Shawn Camp & Darcie Book: Comity of Ghosts" at ICOSA Gallery
New ICOSA show unites the spirits within via the surfaces without

Wayne Alan Brenner, Oct. 15, 2020

<i>Murder on Cold Street</i> by Sherry Thomas
Murder on Cold Street by Sherry Thomas
Sherry Thomas' fifth outing in the Lady Sherlock series is as fascinating and feminist as ever

Oct. 8, 2020

Every Day We Get More Illegal by Juan Felipe Herrera
Every Day We Get More Illegal by Juan Felipe Herrera
With his latest collection, the former U.S. poet laureate offers a kind of spiritual style guide for our time

Roberto Ontiveros, Sept. 24, 2020

"Amada Miller: Everything in Tune" at grayDUCK Gallery
The San Antonio-based artist's new show rings lunar and true

Sept. 17, 2020

"Melanie Clemmons: Likes Charge"
This solo exhibition at Women & Their Work conjures digital comfort in troubled times

Wayne Alan Brenner, Sept. 10, 2020

<i>Good Citizens Need Not Fear</i> by Maria Reva
Good Citizens Need Not Fear by Maria Reva
Anything can happen in the wonderfully weird Ukraine of this short story collection

Robert Faires, Sept. 3, 2020

<i>All Things Left Wild</i> by James Wade
All Things Left Wild by James Wade
In his debut novel, the Austin author reveals a world of brotherly sin and redemption across the Old West

Wayne Alan Brenner, Aug. 6, 2020

Book Review: <i>Network Effect</i> by Martha Wells
Book Review: Network Effect by Martha Wells
In this first full-length novel featuring Murderbot, the violent but endearing rogue AI is back for more adventures to delight "all the stupid humans"

Elizabeth Cobbe, July 30, 2020

"Ben Muñoz: Over My Head" at Flatbed Center for Contemporary Printmaking
These bold new woodcuts capture the depth and bigness of life

Wayne Alan Brenner, July 16, 2020

“Marianne Levy: Grimm Re-Articulated” at the Dougherty Arts Center
This exhibition of ceramic sculptures recasts fairy tales with animals who are more human than the people in the originals

Robert Faires, July 9, 2020

"Lee Albert Hill: Signs" at CAMIBAart
This solo exhibition asks, What happens when shapes run away to join the circuits?

Wayne Alan Brenner, July 2, 2020

A Year Later, the Time Is Right for Another Conversation About <i>Notes From the Field</i>
A Year Later, the Time Is Right for Another Conversation About Notes From the Field
In the wake of George Floyd’s murder, Zach Theatre streamed its staging of the 2019 production and led a discussion on Zoom

Robert Faires, June 18, 2020

Kate Breakey: "Black Tulips & Dead Flowers"
This exhibition focused on specimens of the plant kingdom is like a series of windows into arcane botanical memories

Wayne Alan Brenner, June 18, 2020

This Is Who We Are #13: Pro Arts Collective's <I>Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992</i>
This Is Who We Are #13: Pro Arts Collective's Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992
A daily affirmation of Austin's creativity from the Chronicle archive

Robert Faires, June 1, 2020

This Is Who We Are #12: Tapestry Dance Company's <I>Rhythm … of a Life</i>
This Is Who We Are #12: Tapestry Dance Company's Rhythm … of a Life
A daily affirmation of Austin's creativity from the Chronicle archive

Robert Faires, May 27, 2020

This Is Who We Are #11: Frontera@Hyde Park Theatre's <i>blood pudding</i>
This Is Who We Are #11: Frontera@Hyde Park Theatre's blood pudding
A daily affirmation of Austin's creativity from the Chronicle archive

Robert Faires, May 26, 2020

Northern-Southern Gallery's
Northern-Southern Gallery's "Left in Leaves"
This group exhibition frees artwork from lockdown and sends quaratined viewers in search of it

Robert Faires, May 21, 2020

This Is Who We Are #10: Austin Lyric Opera's <I>Candide</i>
This Is Who We Are #10: Austin Lyric Opera's Candide
A daily affirmation of Austin's creativity from the Chronicle archive

Robert Faires, May 19, 2020

This Is Who We Are #9: Mary Moody Northern Theatre's <I>bobrauschenbergamerica</i>
This Is Who We Are #9: Mary Moody Northern Theatre's bobrauschenbergamerica
A daily affirmation of Austin's creativity from the Chronicle archive

Robert Faires, May 18, 2020

This Is Who We Are #8: Performance Encounters' <i>Home Entertainment 2009</i>
This Is Who We Are #8: Performance Encounters' Home Entertainment 2009
A daily affirmation of Austin’s creativity from the Chronicle archive

Robert Faires, May 15, 2020

The Contemporary Austin Feeds Your Head With <i>The Contemporary at Home</i>
The Contemporary Austin Feeds Your Head at Home
All the art in the Jones Center and at Laguna Gloria is yours for the viewing on the museum's new website

Wayne Alan Brenner, May 14, 2020

This Is Who We Are #7: Sharon Marroquín's <i>The Materiality of Impermanence</i>
This Is Who We Are #7: Sharon Marroquín's The Materiality of Impermanence
A daily affirmation of Austin's creativity from the Chronicle archive

Robert Faires, May 13, 2020

This Is Who We Are #6: Miró Quartet's <i>Faces of America: The Light</i>
This Is Who We Are #6: Miró Quartet's Faces of America: The Light
A daily affirmation of Austin's creativity from the Chronicle archive

Robert Faires, May 12, 2020

« 1    BACK    2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11     NEXT    107 »
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle