The Austin Chronicle

https://www.austinchronicle.com/arts/2015-01-09/fringe-worthy-2015/

Fringe-Worthy 2015

January 9, 2015, Arts

Here are a few performances of interest in the 22nd edition of FronteraFest, as cited by festival producer Christi Moore and Chronicle Arts Editor Robert Faires.

"MYHEB," by Raul Garza. A monologue delivered by a loyal H-E-B customer comedically managing food/identity/cultural/economic issues. 25 min. Tue, Jan. 14, 8pm. Hyde Park.

"Hey Girl, It's Ryan," written by Chris Alonzo, story by Alonzo and Bina Chauhan. A darkly comedic autobiographical piece about Chauhan's 2011 psychotic break, when the only thing saving her from government spies, studio execs, and psych ward personnel was her boyfriend, Ryan Gosling. 25 min. Wed, Jan. 15, 8pm. Hyde Park.

Stars of David Austin Jewish Repertory Theater presents a new musical revue celebrating the lives of your favorite Jewish public figures, based on the bestselling book by Abigail Pogrebin with original music by Broadway's finest composers and lyricists. 90 min. Thu., Jan. 22, 7pm; Sun., Jan. 25, 5:15pm; Tue., Jan. 27, 9:15pm; Sun., Feb. 1, noon. Ground Floor.

The Situation Room and Connective Tissue Xynergistas! Productions presents two experimental performance works that combine theatre, dance, and projections. In The Situation Room, a woman locks herself inside a racquetball court. In Connective Tissue, a woman works to heal trauma through Somatic Movement Theory. 45 min. Thu., Jan. 29, 8:30pm; Fri., Jan. 30, 11:15pm; Sat., Jan. 31, 9pm; Sun., Feb. 1, 2:15pm. Ground Floor.

The King of Texas Playwright Beth Webster dramatizes the "Pig War" of 1840, in which greedy porkers overrunning the French Legation garden nearly scuttled relations between the Republic of Texas and France. Starring Kenneth Wayne Bradley and Zac Thomas. Ken Webster directs. 60 min. Tue., Jan. 20, 7pm; Sat., Jan. 24, noon; Fri., Jan. 30, 9:15pm; Sun., Feb. 1, 6pm. Ground Floor.

Copyright © 2021 Austin Chronicle Corporation. All rights reserved.