The Austin Chronicle

Consummate Artistry

The 2013-14 Austin Critics Table Awards

By Robert Faires, June 6, 2014, Arts

Zach Theatre's production of In the Next Room, or The Vibrator Play and Kathy Dunn Hamrick Dance Company's The Undoing of Nonet were the big winners at the Austin Critics Table Awards on Monday, each receiving four prizes from the informal affiliation of arts writers.

For its 22nd presentation of awards for notable artistic achievements, the Critics Table welcomed three groups into the Austin Arts Hall of Fame (Big Medium, Blue Genie Art Industries, and the Rude Mechanicals) and distributed honors in 42 categories. Trouble Puppet Theatre's The Crapstall Street Boys earned three awards, and 10 projects won two each: Rude Mechs' Fixing King John; Theatre En Bloc's Fat Pig; Texas State University Department of Theatre and Dance's Anything Goes; Zach Theatre's Les Misérables; Breaking String Theater's Three, or The Sound of the Great Existential Nothingness; KDH Dance's The Big Small; Julie Nathanielsz and Heloise Gold's Gold Show|Rose Show; Ariel Dance Theatre's Heart; the Golden Hornet Project/Texas Choral Consort/Texas Performing Arts collaboration Mozart Requiem Undead; and the Women & Their Work project Thirst.

Critics participating in this year's awards – covering the period from May 1, 2013, to April 30, 2014 – were the Austin American-Statesman's Cate Blouke (theatre), Claire Canavan (theatre), Luke Quinton (classical music/visual art), Claire Spera (dance), and Jeanne Claire van Ryzin (arts); and the Chronicle's Elizabeth Cobbe (theatre), Caitlin Greenwood (visual art), Adam Roberts (theatre/classical music), Seth Orion Schwaiger (visual art), Jonelle Seitz (dance), Stacy Alexander Smith (theatre), Natalie Zeldin (classical music), and Robert Faires (arts).


Production, Drama

Fat Pig, Theatre En Bloc

Production, Comedy

Der Bestrafte Brudermord, The Hidden Room Theatre

Production, Musical

Little Shop of Horrors, Zilker Theatre Productions


Sarah Rasmussen, In the Next Room, or The Vibrator Play

Ensemble Performance

Fixing King John, Rude Mechanicals

Music Direction

Greg Bolin, Anything Goes

Acting in a Leading Role

Jill Blackwood, In the Next Room, or The Vibrator Play

Emily Erington, Gidion's Knot

Ryan Hamilton, Fat Pig

Jason Liebrecht, The Lieutenant of Inishmore/Fixing King John

Jeff Mills, Three, or The Sound of the Great Existential Nothingness

Acting in a Supporting Role

Andrew Cannata, Les Misérables/Assassins

Ryan Crowder, Red

Amy Downing, In the Next Room, or The Vibrator Play

Traci Lee, Les Misérables

Tiffany Mann, One Night With Janis Joplin


Cassie Abate, Anything Goes

David Mark Cohen New Play Award

Three, or The Sound of the Great Existential Nothingness, Timothy Braun

Touring Show, Theatre (tie)

Jomama Jones: Radiate, Salvage Vanguard Theater

El Rumor del Incendio, Lagartijas Tiradas al Sol/Fusebox Festival


Dance Concert

The Undoing of Nonet, Kathy Dunn Hamrick Dance Company

Short Work

"Resonance," Ariel Dance Theatre/Heloise Gold


Kathy Dunn Hamrick, The Big Small/The Undoing of Nonet


Alyson Dolan, The Big Small/The Undoing of Nonet/The Bowie Project: A Rock & Roll Soundpainting/ "Grit"

Rebecca Johnson, A Midsummer Night's Dream/Giselle


A'lante Flamenco, Prophecies


Scenic Design

Moria Sine Clinton, In the Next Room, or The Vibrator Play

Costume Design

Judanna Lynn, The Nutcracker

Lighting Design

Stephen Pruitt, Gold Show|Rose Show/Heart/The Undoing of Nonet/The Crapstall Street Boys/PowerUP

Sound Design

K. Eliot Haynes, The Crapstall Street Boys

Media Design & Integration

K. Eliot Haynes & Chris Owen, The Crapstall Street Boys


Symphonic Performance

Puts: How Wild the Sea, UT Symphony Orchestra with Miró Quartet

Chamber Performance

Reich: Music for Pieces of Wood/Soper: In the Reign of Harad IV/Xenakis: Okho, line upon line percussion

Choral Performance

Mozart Requiem Undead, Texas Choral Consort/Convergence/Golden Hornet Project


Tosca, Austin Lyric Opera


Cameron Beauchamp, Mozart Requiem Undead

Kathryn Findlen, That the Night Come

Original Composition/Score

"Black-Eyed Suzy," Donald Grantham


Brian Lewis, McLean: Elements


line upon line percussion


Museum Exhibition

"Converging Lines: Eva Hesse and Sol LeWitt," Veronica Roberts, curator; Blanton Museum of Art

Solo Gallery Exhibition (tie)

"Jessica Mathews: Stepping Into Water," Red Space

"Wura-Natasha Ogunji: Your heart is clean," MASS Gallery

Group Gallery Exhibition

"Something Lost," Phil LaDeau, curator; Co-Lab Projects N Space

Work of Art: Independent or Public Project

Thirst, Women & Their Work, Beili Liu, Emily Little, Norma Yancey, Cassie Bergstrom, Lady Bird Lake

Work of Art: Installation

Common Crossings, Marianne Vitale, The Contemporary Austin, Laguna Gloria

Artist (tie)

Michael Sieben

Claude van Lingen

Gallery, Body of Work

Tiny Park Gallery


John Bustin Award for Conspicuous Versatility

Michael Stuart

W.H. "Deacon" Crain for Outstanding Student Work

Brittany Allyson, St. Edward's

Annie Wallace, Texas State University

Dancing Through the Pain Award

Ellen Bartel, I Begin Where I Grieve

Unlimited Edition Award

Elvia Perrin and Cathy Savage, PrintAustin 2014

Bow Monde Award

Butler School of Music, hosting of the 2014 Menuhin Competition

Red Tape Purple Heart Award

The Thirst team

Copyright © 2017 Austin Chronicle Corporation. All rights reserved.