Get Booked

Big names and newcomers delight in this collection of recent releases

Get Booked

The Goldfinch

by Donna Tartt
Little, Brown, and Company, 784 pp., $30

One of the supreme pleasures for the fiction enthusiast is the immersive power of a novel to enthrall the reader so successfully that when the reverie finally breaks, the coffee's gone cold and the lengthy shadows of twilight approach.

So it is with Donna Tartt's novel, The Goldfinch, her first new work in 11 years. Fans of The Secret History, Tartt's 1992 debut about pagan shenanigans at an elite college in Vermont, will be right at home here, as the author retains her skill of drawing the reader into a briskly paced story of erudite prose.

Taking more than a few pages from Dickens, Tartt weaves a bildungsroman of fate and coincidence, of tragic reversals and fortuitous convergences. Theo Decker is a 13-year-old who becomes unmoored when his mother is killed in a New York museum bombing of which he is one of the few survivors. After impulsively stealing the titular painting (by 17th century Dutch artist Carel Fabritius) in the chaotic aftermath of the explosion, Theo is placed in the home of a society family on Park Avenue before being whisked away by his deadbeat dad to the desolate, eerily empty suburban sprawl of Las Vegas.

Theo's journey eventually takes him into the international art and antiques black market, full of dangerous Ukrainian gangsters and double-crossing junkies. But through it all, Theo clings to his illicit goldfinch, his only respite against the loneliness and aching loss of his mother. With meditations on art, addiction, and finding meaning in a soulless world, The Goldfinch is a triumph – mandatory reading for any serious bibliophile.

Perfect for: brooding art history majors, antiquarians, fans of curling up

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for almost 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

READ MORE
More by Josh Kupecki
Halston
Documentary about the life of the master couturier and milliner should have learned his lessons about simplicity and elegance

June 7, 2019

Non-Fiction
Olivier Assayas sharpens his teeth for this new attack on the question of art versus commerce

May 24, 2019

MORE IN THE ARCHIVES
NEWSLETTERS
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Updates for SXSW 2019

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle