Culture Flash!

The 2005 Texas Medal of Arts Awards have been announced, and the Elisabet Ney Museum snags a Historic Homes grant

• The winners of the third Texas Medal of Arts Awards have been announced by the Texas Cultural Trust Council. The annual honors go to Texans who have made outstanding achievements in the literary arts, visual arts, dance, music, theatre, television, arts education, and arts patronage. A lifetime achievement award is also presented. Receiving medals at this year's ceremony at the Paramount Theatre on Tuesday, April 5, will be: Grammy Award-winning singer Vikki Carr of El Paso (Lifetime Achievement); former Houston Ballet Artistic Director Ben Stevenson O.B.E. of Houston (Dance); Grammy Award-winning singer/songwriter Lyle Lovett of Klein (Music); Tony Award-winning actress Phylicia Rashad of Houston (Television/Theatre); poet, essayist, and fiction writer Naomi Shihab Nye of San Antonio (Literary Arts); painter, writer, and illustrator Jose Cisneros of El Paso (Visual Arts); internationally celebrated director Robert Wilson of Waco (Theatre); Ginger Head-Gearheart of Fort Worth (Arts Education); Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long of Austin (Arts Patron Individual); modern and contemporary sculpture Nasher Foundation/Raymond D. Nasher of Dallas (Arts Patron Foundation). Bob Schieffer of CBS News will emcee the event, which will feature performances by Patty Griffin, Ray Benson, Yolanda Adams, Ballet Austin, and Texas Cultural Trust Young Master Caitlin Tully. For more information, call 800/585-3737 or visit

• The Elisabet Ney Museum received a $5,000 grant from the National Trust for Historic Preservation to help preserve the facility as part of its Historic Artists' Homes and Studios program, an initiative funded by the Henry Luce Foundation. The Ney was the only such home in Texas to be funded in this round of grants. For more information, call 458-2255 or visit

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

More Culture Flash!
Culture Flash!
Culture Flash!
Payne Theatre Award winners, new companies at home at the Long Center, and an arts administrator gets more classical work

Nov. 2, 2012

Culture Flash!
Culture Flash!
Miró finds a violinist, ACGS finds a guitarist, and it's time to take out the 'Trash'

Robert Faires, July 29, 2011


Texas Medal of Arts Awards, Texas Cultural Trust Council, Vikki Carr, Ben Stevenson, Lyle Lovett, Phylicia Rashad, Naomi Shihab Nye, Jose Cisneros, Robert Wilson, Ginger Head-Gearheart, Joe R. Long, Teresa Lozano Long, Nasher Foundation, Raymond D. Nasher, Bob Schieffer, Patty Griffin, Ray Benson, Yolanda Adams, Ballet Austin, Caitlin TullyElisabet Ney Museum

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle