The Austin Chronicle

Terry Allen: A Discography

By Robert Faires, December 19, 2003, Arts

Juarez (1975): Allen's first album. Includes: "Cantina Carlotta," "There Oughta Be a Law Against Sunny Southern California." Originally issued on Fate Records. Reissue due in April 2004 on Sugar Hill Records, with new liner notes by Dave Alvin.

Lubbock (on Everything) (1979): Double album return to Allen's roots. Debut of the Panhandle Mystery Band. Includes: "Great Joe Bob (A Regional Tragedy)," "New Delhi Freight Train." Originally issued on Fate Records. Reissued in 1995 on Sugar Hill.

Smokin' the Dummy (1980): Includes: "The Lubbock Tornado (I Don't Know)," "Whatever Happened to Jesus (and Maybelline)?" Reissued in 1997 on Sugar Hill with Bloodlines.

Bloodlines (1983): Includes "Oh, What a Dangerous Life" and "Gimme a Ride to Heaven, Boy." Originally issued on Fate Records. Reissued in 1997 on Sugar Hill with Smokin' the Dummy.

Amerasia (1987): Soundtrack to Wolf-Eckart Buhler's 1986 film about Americans in Southeast Asia after the Vietnam War. Includes "Nobody's Going Home (Friendship Highway)," "Lucy's Tiger Den." Originally issued on Fate Records. Reissued in 2003 by Sugar Hill.

Torso Hell (1988): "Radio movie" about mutilated Vietnam vets, developed by Allen and artist Jacki Apple for Pacifica Radio's KPFK in 1986. High Performance Records.

Pedal Steal/Rollback (1992): Two soundtracks for dances commissioned by the Margaret Jenkins Dance Company. Pedal Steal includes "Billy the Boy," a song cycle based on the life of steel guitarist Wayne Gailey. Originally issued on Fate Records.

The Silent Majority (Terry Allen's Greatest Missed Hits) (1992): Songs written for film, theatre, and dance projects or previously released as singles. Includes: "Big Ol' White Boys," "Cocktail Desperado" (from David Byrne's True Stories). Fate Records.

Songs From Chippy (1995): Musical co-created by Terry and Jo Harvey Allen, Joe Ely, Butch Hancock, Wayne Hancock, Robert Earl Keen, and Jo Carol Pierce, from the diaries of a Depression-era hooker. Commissioned by the American Music Theater Festival. Includes Allen's "Boomtown Boogie," "Angels of the Wind." Hollywood Records.

Human Remains (1996): Guest work by Joe Ely, David Byrne, Lucinda Williams, Will Sexton, and Charlie Sexton. Includes "Gone to Texas," "After the Fall," "Flatland Boogie." Sugar Hill.

Salivation (1999): Co-produced with Lloyd Maines; guest work by Marcia Ball, Guy Clark, Mark Rubin, Jo Harvey Allen. Includes "X-Mas on the Isthmus," Flatt & Scruggs' "Give Me the Flowers." Sugar Hill.

Copyright © 2019 Austin Chronicle Corporation. All rights reserved.