1995 B. Iden Payne Award Winners

On September 17, the Austin Circle of Theatres (ACOT) held the 21st annual
B. Iden Payne Awards Ceremony at the Four Seasons Hotel. The event honors achievements in local theatre during the preceding year and recognizes significant individual and corporate contributions to local theatre. ACOT's Board of Directors voted the 1995 Individual Recognition Award to Bil Pfuderer, in recognition of his long work as an actor, director, and an administrator with the City of Austin Parks and Recreation Department, and the Corporate Recognition Award to KPMG Peat Marwick for their 10 years of accounting service to ACOT.

Most of the evening was devoted to the presentation of 31 awards to artists and production companies for work presented on Austin stages from August 1994 through July 1995. The productions receiving the most awards were those which had been honored with the most nominations: Dreamgirls (six awards, 15 nominations), Forever Plaid (five awards, 14 nominations), The Steadfast Tin Soldier (five awards, 12 nominations), and And Baby Makes Seven (four awards, 10 nominations). Troupe Texas' adaptation of a Bertolt Brecht drama, The Chalk Circle, was the surprise winner of the night, winning three awards, including Best Production of a Drama. The most honored producer was the Zachary Scott Theatre Center; 13 awards acknowledged work that it produced. The full list of award winners is as follows:


Properties: Christopher McCollum & Keith

Donnally, And Baby Makes Seven

Set: Michael Raiford, Forever Plaid

Lighting: Don Day, Forever Plaid

Sound: Mac McDonnell, Forever Plaid

Costume: Michael Raiford, Dreamgirls

Hair & Make-Up: Robin Lee, Dreamgirls

Original Script: Christopher Boyd & Allen

Robertson, The Steadfast Tin Soldier

Children's Theatre

Actor: Scotty Roberts,

The Steadfast Tin Soldier

Actress: Meredith Robertson,

The Steadfast Tin Soldier

Director: Christopher Boyd,

The Steadfast Tin Soldier

Production: The Steadfast Tin Soldier

(Second Youth)


Choreography: Sarah Ing, The Chalk Circle

Musical Direction: Allen Robertson,
Forever Plaid

Featured Actor: Kenneth Williams,

Five Guys Named Moe

Featured Actress: Felicia Dinwiddie,


Lead Actor: Joe York, Forever Plaid

Lead Actress: Jacqui Cross, Dreamgirls

Director: Dave Steakley, Dreamgirls

Production: Dreamgirls

(Zachary Scott Theatre Center)


Featured Actor: Todd Lowe, Three Cuckolds

Featured Actress: Barbara Chisholm, Good-

night Desdemona (Good Morning Juliet)

Lead Actor: Norman Blumensaadt,

The Triumph of Love

Lead Actress: Roxy Becker,

And Baby Makes Seven

Director: Mark Ramont,

And Baby Makes Seven

Production: And Baby Makes Seven

(Frontera/Hyde Park Theatre)


Featured Actor: Michael Dalmon, Burnt

Featured Actress: Jennifer Haley,
The Chalk Circle

Lead Actor: Chamblee Ferguson, Girl Gone

Lead Actress: Lee Horton, Keely and Du

Director: Vicky Boone, The Water Principle

Production: The Chalk Circle (Troupe Texas)

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for almost 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle