Austin Film Critics Association Announces Top Pic(k)s

The AFCA anoints There Will Be Blood best film of the year

Fri., Dec. 21, 2007

In its second year of operation, the Austin Film Critics Association has pretty handily anointed the not-yet-released There Will Be Blood as the best film of the year. The AFCA – whose membership includes local critics from daily newspapers, weekly alternatives, monthly magazines, television, and online video and review sites – also continues its love affair with Ellen Page, who won Best Actress last year for her work in Hard Candy and takes the prize again for her portrayal of a smart-mouthed pregnant teen in Juno. To learn more about the AFCA, visit www.austinfilmcritics.com.

Top 10:

There Will Be Blood

No Country for Old Men


Into the Wild

3:10 to Yuma

Knocked Up

Before the Devil Knows You're Dead


American Gangster

Eastern Promises

Best Film: There Will Be Blood

Best Director: Paul Thomas Anderson (There Will Be Blood)

Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis (There Will Be Blood)

Best Actress: Ellen Page (Juno)

Best Supporting Actor: Javier Bardem (No Country for Old Men)

Best Supporting Actress: Allison Janney (Juno)

Best Foreign Film: Black Book

Best Documentary: The King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters

Best Animated Film: Ratatouille

Best First Film: Ben Affleck (Gone Baby Gone)

Best Original Screenplay: Diablo Cody (Juno)

Best Adapted Screenplay: Joel and Ethan Coen (No Country for Old Men)

Best Cinematography: Robert Elswit (There Will Be Blood)

Best Original Score: Jonny Greenwood (There Will Be Blood)

Breakthrough Artist: Michael Cera (Superbad, Juno)

Austin Film Award: Grindhouse

The membership of the Austin Film Critics Association includes Michael Barnes (Austin American-Statesman), Marjorie Baumgarten (Austin Chronicle), C. Robert Cargill (Film.com & Ain't It Cool News), Laurie Coker (The Hill Country News), Korey Coleman (Spill), Chris Cox (Spill), Cole Dabney (coleandbobby.com & INsite Magazine), Victor Diaz (News 8 Austin), Chris Garcia (Austin American-Statesman), Robert R. McCurdy (coleandbobby.com & INsite Magazine), Marc Savlov (Austin Chronicle), Eric Vespe (Ain't It Cool News), and Brian Villalobos (San Antonio Current).

write a letter