Book Review: Rock & Roll Books

Peter Aaron

Rock & Roll Books

If You Like the Ramones ...

by Peter Aaron
Backbeat Books, 278 pp., $16.99

As the lengthy subtitle asserts, "Here Are Over 200 Bands, CDs, Films, and Other Oddities That You Will Love." Punk-blues musician Peter Aaron (Chrome Cranks) has penned an authoritative, annotated guide to the culture that both spawned and was spawned by the leather-jacketed chainsaw-pop quartet that would become punk rock's definitive band. If You Like the Ramones ... could be a necessary update on the early Eighties Catalog of Cool, underlining what records to buy – anything from Chuck Berry and the Ronettes, the Beatles, and the Stones to Black Sabbath, the Stooges, and the New York Dolls, with some Dick Dale in between – to understand what made "Blitzkrieg Bop" so crucial. It's not just knowing the shadow the Ramones cast over every punk, hardcore, thrash metal, and alternative act that followed, but also about appreciating Mighty Mouse and Woody Woodpecker, Mad magazine and The Amazing Spider-Man, Freaks and Nightmare Alley, Hogan's Heroes and The Munsters. Aaron's written a guide to everything historically fast and loud.

READ MORE
More Ramones
Music DVDs
Ramones
It's Alive: 1974-1996 (Record Review)

Greg Beets, Dec. 21, 2007

Off the Record
Off the Record
music news

Austin Powell, Nov. 23, 2007

More Music Reviews
Pretty Paper: A Christmas Tale
Pretty Paper: A Christmas Tale

Tim Stegall, Dec. 2, 2016

Book Review: Texas Book Festival Music Reviews
Without Getting Killed or Caught: The Life and Music of Guy Clark
The dean of Lone Star songwriting documented at the 11th hour

Doug Freeman, Nov. 4, 2016

More by Tim Stegall
Texas Platters
Walter Daniels
"Almost Got Hit by a Truck" b/w "My Mind Got Bad", "Voodoo Working" and "Stimulant" b/w "I Get Off on It", "Graveyard Shift" b/w "They Can Only Fill One Grave" (Record Review)

Dec. 2, 2016

Texas Platters
Rick Broussard’s Two Hoots & a Holler
Time Has Shown Me (Record Review)

Nov. 25, 2016

KEYWORDS FOR THIS STORY

Ramones, gift guide 2013

MORE IN THE ARCHIVES
NEWSLETTERS
AC Daily, Events and Promotions, Luvdoc Answers

Breaking news, recommended events, and more

Official Chronicle events, promotions, and giveaways

Updates for SXSW 2017

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)