If You Like the Ramones ...

Peter Aaron

Rock & Roll Books

If You Like the Ramones ...

by Peter Aaron
Backbeat Books, 278 pp., $16.99

As the lengthy subtitle asserts, "Here Are Over 200 Bands, CDs, Films, and Other Oddities That You Will Love." Punk-blues musician Peter Aaron (Chrome Cranks) has penned an authoritative, annotated guide to the culture that both spawned and was spawned by the leather-jacketed chainsaw-pop quartet that would become punk rock's definitive band. If You Like the Ramones ... could be a necessary update on the early Eighties Catalog of Cool, underlining what records to buy – anything from Chuck Berry and the Ronettes, the Beatles, and the Stones to Black Sabbath, the Stooges, and the New York Dolls, with some Dick Dale in between – to understand what made "Blitzkrieg Bop" so crucial. It's not just knowing the shadow the Ramones cast over every punk, hardcore, thrash metal, and alternative act that followed, but also about appreciating Mighty Mouse and Woody Woodpecker, Mad magazine and The Amazing Spider-Man, Freaks and Nightmare Alley, Hogan's Heroes and The Munsters. Aaron's written a guide to everything historically fast and loud.

READ MORE
More Ramones
Music DVDs
Ramones
It's Alive: 1974-1996 (Record Review)

Greg Beets, Dec. 21, 2007

Off the Record
Off the Record
music news

Austin Powell, Nov. 23, 2007

More Music Reviews
My Little Red Book
Kill 'Em and Leave: Searching for James Brown and the American Soul
"A man who carries the troubled history of an entire people on his back and a 24-piece band and three radio stations to boot cannot find peace"

Thomas Fawcett, June 17, 2016

My Little Red Book
Under the Big Black Sun: A Personal History of L.A. Punk
Punk rock as L.A. lit no less than Charles Bukowski and Raymond Chandler

Tim Stegall, June 17, 2016

More by Tim Stegall
Summer Reading: Sam Phillips
Summer Reading: Sam Phillips
Digging into the landmark bio of rock & roll’s colonel

June 17, 2016

My Little Red Book
NOFX: The Hepatitis Bathtub and Other Stories
The punk equivalent to Mötley Crüe's debauched autobiography The Dirt

June 17, 2016

KEYWORDS FOR THIS STORY

Ramones, gift guide 2013

MORE IN THE ARCHIVES
NEWSLETTERS
AC Daily, Events and Promotions, Luvdoc Answers

Breaking news, recommended events, and more

Official Chronicle events, promotions, and giveaways

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)