Birth A.D.


Texas Platters

I Blame You (Dark Descent Records)

Recalling the cynical aggression of M.O.D.'s genre classic, Gross Misconduct, local crossover thrash trio Birth A.D. unleashes a remarkably consistent run of two-minute tunes in which bassist/singer Jeff Tandy rips on every aspect of society, including his peers in "This Scene Sucks" and "Mission Statement," wherein he derides image-conscious retro-thrash wannabes in high-tops and headbands. "Bring Back the Draft," "Popular War," and a cover of Fearless Iranians From Hell's "Blow Up the Embassy" may sound radical, but really it's political incorrectness that reins supreme for Tandy, who unreservedly references "fat chicks," "retards," and "the welfare mob" to present this thesis: The world's full of morons who deserve to die. It's not the most poignant message, but Tandy's clever enough to make it an immensely entertaining argument. As a vocalist, he's semi-pro, but lyrically he might be the best pure shit-talker Austin's seen since Dickie Moist. With no apparent desire to melt faces musically, except for the extra metallic drumming of Mark Perry, Birth A.D. stays simple and sticks to the fundamentals of crossover thrash. What would you expect from such unabashed purists?


More Music Reviews
Too Late to Stop Now
On Earth as It Is: The Complete Works, Temple of the Dog: Deluxe Edition, Badmotorfinger: Super Deluxe Edition, God's Balls / Salt Lick / 8-Way Santa (Record Review)

Michael Toland, Dec. 16, 2016

Texas Platters
Wild Tinderbox
Wild Tinderbox (Record Review)

Bryan Rolli, Dec. 2, 2016

More by Kevin Curtin
SXSW Music List Four
SXSW Music List Four
Spoon, Kate Nash, Malcolm London, and 141 more added

Jan. 19, 2017

Playback: Strange Brew Empties
Playback: Strange Brew Empties
Financial duress buckles South Austin listening institution

Jan. 20, 2017


Birth A.D.

AC Daily, Events and Promotions, Luvdoc Answers

Breaking news, recommended events, and more

Official Chronicle events, promotions, and giveaways

Updates for SXSW 2017

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)