the latest

« Screens

Austin Film Festival Announces Awards Recipients

Jonathan Demme, Vince Gilligan, and Barry Josephson honored
Monica Riese, 11:15am, Wed. Apr. 24, 2013
Photo by Jana Birchum
Jonathan Demme at SXSW 2009

The Austin Film Festival announced this morning the three big names who will accept awards at the festival's awards luncheon Oct. 26: Jonathan Demme, Vince Gilligan, and Barry Josephson.

Jonathan Demme is perhaps best known for his work as a director on Silence of the Lambs (1991), Philadelphia (1993), The Manchurian Candidate (2004), and Rachel Getting Married (2008). He will be honored this year with AFF's Extraordinary Contribution to Filmmaking Award, joining such luminaries as Frank Darabont and John Lasseter.

Vince Gilligan is the creator of the hit AMC drama Breaking Bad, which is slated to return to screens for its final eight episodes starting Aug. 11. He is set to receive this year's Outstanding Television Writer Award.

Barry Josephson is going to have the honor of receiving AFF's inaugural Heart of Film Award "for his many contributions to film and television, and service to the screenwriting industry." You know his name from production credits on Bones, Enchanted, Life as We Know It, Wild Wild West, and dozens of other projects dating back 25 years.

Stay tuned to the Screens blog for more announcements from this year's festival, slated to run Oct. 24-31.

Next in Screens: Exclusive Peek: Mike Mitchell Heads For Mondo »