Texas Rollergirls: A Decade of Aggression

Flat track Roller Derby originals roll into the 2013 season tonight

Texas Rollergirls: A Decade of Aggression

2003: The Texas Rollergirls are formed.

2013: The original modern flat track Roller Derby enters its tenth year tonight, February 10.

Re-running last year's nail-biting season closer, at 6pm a new-look Hustlers try to break their losing streak when they face the rising Honky Tonk Heartbreakers. Then at 7.30pm the defending champions, the Hell Marys, try to make it 3-0 over the Hotrod Honeys.

I handicapped this year's teams earlier this week, but all that comes with a big coda. The latest revisions to the Women's Flat Track Derby Association's rules come with two massive changes: An end to the traditional two-whistle start, and no more minor penalties. In footballing terms, that's like dumping the snap and ending five yard penalties. Think about how much that changes the game. Think how much that could blow the doors wide open.

Here's a teaser of what you can expect tonight:

Doors open at 5pm at the Austin Convention Center, 500 E. Cesar Chavez. For more info visit www.texasrollergirls.org. If you can't make it to the bout, you can always watch the bout feed at www.texasrollergirls.org/bouts/watch-us-live. Either way, follow us on Twitter at @AusChronSports.

AC Daily, Events and Promotions, Luvdoc Answers

Breaking news, recommended events, and more

Official Chronicle events, promotions, and giveaways

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)