TFPF Panelists Announced, Screenings Set

Judges will determine 2011 grant recipients

Filmmaker and TFPF panelist Barry Jenkins
Filmmaker and TFPF panelist Barry Jenkins

The Texas indie film scene is pretty chummy – a place where everybody knows your name (and, um, they're always glad you came?) – so every year the Austin Film Society wisely farms out the task of determining precisely which of those Texas indie film scenesters gets a grant from AFS' Texas Filmmakers' Production Fund.

This year's judges – three non-Texans and distinguished filmmakers, all of 'em – are Barry Jenkins (Medicine for Melancholy); Anne Lai (the Sundance Institute's producer-in-residence); and Ian Olds (Occupation: Dreamland). The panel will review the 2011 TFPF grant applications and ultimately award some $90,000 in cash, goods, and services to Texan filmmakers; the grant recipients will be announced on Aug. 26.

Prior to that, there will be a night of programming devoted to the panelists' earlier work, with a collection of short films by Jenkins screening on Aug. 21, 7pm, at the Alamo South Lamar, followed by Olds' award-winning documentary Fixer: The Taking of Ajmal Naqshbandi at 9:30pm.

Find out more – including how to get tickets – here.

More Texas Filmmakers' Production Fund
AFS Announces Filmmaker Grant Panel
AFS Announces Filmmaker Grant Panel
Indie filmmakers, Lincoln Center film booker doling out cash

Richard Whittaker, Aug. 4, 2016

Last Day for AFS Film Grants
Last Day for AFS Film Grants
Get your AFS Grant applications in before midnight

Richard Whittaker, June 2, 2016

More by Kimberley Jones
The California Highway Patrol rides again

March 31, 2017

The Sense of an Ending
A man's past comes back to haunt him in the form of a letter

March 24, 2017


Texas Filmmakers' Production Fund, TFPF, Barry Jenkins, Anne Lai, Ian Olds

AC Daily, Events and Promotions, Luvdoc Answers

Breaking news, recommended events, and more

Official Chronicle events, promotions, and giveaways

Updates for SXSW 2017

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)