The 33rd Annual Austin Music Awards will be held Wednesday, March 18


Best Texas Recordings

Best of the Year | Best Texas Recordings | Best Performing Bands
Best Austin Musicians | Related Categories | Hall of Fame

Album of the Year
The Bright Light Social Hour, The Bright Light Social Hour

2) True Love Cast Out All Evil (Anti-), Roky Erickson with Okkervil River
3) Myth of the Heart (Playing in Traffic), Sahara Smith
4) Songs for Staying In, Quiet Company
5) El Existential (Nat Geo Music), Grupo Fantasma
6) Texas Treasures (Deep South), Los Texas Wranglers
7) Break, One-Eyed Doll
8) Hexadecagon (Peek-A-Boo), the Octopus Project
9) Up Close (EMI/Vortexan), Eric Johnson
10) Street Songs of Love (Fantasy/Concord), Alejandro Escovedo
11) Phosphene Dream (Blue Horizon), Black Angels
12) Let the Light In (Root House), Amy Cook
13) Plays Blues, Ballads & Favorites (Shout! Factory), Jimmie Vaughan
14) The Bright Lights, Saints of Valory
15) The Laziest Girl in Town, Elizabeth McQueen
16) Codename: Rondo (Trashy Moped), Ghostland Observatory
17) ¡Està Bueno! (Bismeaux), Texas Tornados
18) Green Diamond, Eric Tessmer
19) Downtown Church (Credential), Patty Griffin
20) New Morning (Hollywood), Alpha Rev

Song of the Year
"Detroit," by the Bright Light Social Hour

2) "How Do You Do It" by Taylor Muse for Quiet Company
3) "The Real Thing," by Sahara Smith
4) "Carrie," by Speak
5) "Who's to Blame, Senorita?" by Shawn Sahm/Doug Sahm for Texas Tornados
6) "Could've Been a Country Star," by Julian Fernandez for Los Texas Wranglers
7) "Back and Forth," by the Bright Light Social Hour
8) "Austin," by Eric Johnson
9) "Telephone," by the Black Angels
10) "Beautiful Freak," by Kimberly Freeman for One-Eyed Doll
11) "Anchor," by Alejandro Escovedo/Chuck Prophet for Alejandro Escovedo
12) "Providence," by Saints of Valory
13) "Green Diamond," by Eric Tessmer
14) "Faint Green Light," by Mother Falcon
15) "Lucky," by Kat Edmondson
16) "New Morning," by Alpha Rev
17) "If I Had My Way," traditional, arranged by Patty Griffin
18) "We Pourin' Up," by Lady & the Amp
19) "Summer of Love," by Josh Zee/Teal Collins for the Mother Truckers
20) "You're To Blame," by Elizabeth McQueen